Don't be fooled by your grocery store, gluten free, what's hiding in your food

Confused about Which Foods Contain Gluten? Here’s the List.

Which Common Foods Contain Gluten?

Gluten gives baked goods their doughy-ness. So it appears in many foods, some obvious and some not so obvious. So the list of foods containing gluten is a long one.

Don’t be alarmed. Now that awareness about gluten-intolerance is rising there are many ways to make food gluten free – I’ve even seen gluten-free hamburger buns.

This is an extensive list of common foods but don’t consider it complete. Some unusual foods like Chinese fortune cookies and Ethiopian injera bread also are likely to contain gluten but are not regularly included in the diet of most people who read this blog. When in doubt read the label or ask your server.

Grains

The BIG 3 are Barley, Wheat and Rye but they sometimes travel under different names such as: 

  • Barley, including barley malt
  • Bran
  • Bulgur
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Kamut
  • Oats (are routinely contaminated in processing. Look for gluten-free oats.)
  • Orzo (which is not a grain but a pasta made from wheat flour)
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Wheat

Pastas

Any pasta, whether elbow macaroni, spaghetti, or any other shape, that is made of:

  • Wheat
  • Semolina
  • Farina

Baked Goods

Most processed baked goods are made from wheat flour, so these contain gluten. While you can find many gluten-free choices now, it is best to limit your intake of processed foods any way.

    • Cake
    • Bread
    • Bread crumbs
    • Cupcakes
    • Tortillas (even “corn” tortillas frequently have some wheat)
    • Bagels
    • Muffins
    • Pastries
    • Sandwich buns
    • Hotdog buns
    • Pizza crust
    • Pie crust

Cereal

Cereal made from rye, wheat, bran, and barley always contain gluten. Cereals made from non-gluten grains like oats, corn, and rice are often processed on the same equipment as their gluten-y counterparts and become contaminated. Be sure to look for the “gluten free” label on cereal.

Meat and Poultry

In its natural state, meat and poultry is gluten free. However, the processing and cooking of the meat often adds gluten. Be wary of any meat or poultry that is precooked or prepared, especially these types:

    • Breaded meat or chicken or fish
    • Some Hot dogs and sausages
    • Some meatballs
    • Lunch meat

Other Items

    • Beer
    • Some salad dressings
    • Soy sauce
    • Malt
    • Couscous
    • Tabouli
    • Gravies
    • Sauces
    • The meat substitute seitan
    • Tortilla chips
    • Some corn chips
    • Canned soup and broth
    • Bouillon cubes
    • Frozen or canned vegetables in sauce
    • Restaurant or fast food French fries

Skin Care Products

You may also find that your skin does better when you avoid gluten in skin care products such as:

    • Shampoo
    • Sunscreen
    • Toothpaste
    • Lotions
    • Make-up
    • Lipstick

After a period of complete avoidance, in combination with an enzyme-based nutrition program, some people find that they are able to tolerate small amounts of gluten without immediately having symptoms.

If you want to find out if you are sensitive to gluten CUTTING BACK consumption is NOT enough. You need to either do a Gluten Avoidance Test or have a lab test for gluten intolerance.

What has your experience been with gluten foods? Tell us in the Comments section below.

2 Comments

Leave A Response

* Denotes Required Field